Tamara Ojdanic (Slovenia)
April 2017


We stayed at the Green Garden apartment in March for our last two days in Barbados. We particularly enjoyed its location in a quiet neighborhood, very close to the sea but not right on the ocean where the waves are very noisy. The Wi-Fi was very fast, the apartment was very clean and it felt very homely. The breeze and the ceiling fan kept the bedroom cool and there was no need for an A/C. Great place for surfers or people who are looking for a relaxing and quiet holiday away from it all. It is close to the airport, however you could hardly spot or hear any planes. Go to Miami/Enterprise Beach if you want to see them flying over your head! We walked there with our 5-year old son, carrying the obligatory boogie board which we found in the apartment. The local beach is lovely and deserted, however in March the waves are too strong for a small child to go swimming safely. We enjoyed a sundowner at the nearby Surfers’ Bar, great music and beastly cold beers! We would definitely recommend this place! Thank you Stefano & Elisabetta!


January 2013

the perfect place of holiday...

Welcome and familiarity are the principal characteristics, into the fantastic place like Barbados; beautiful apartment positioned in the relax angle in a few step by the sea. We’ll come back sure, thanks to Stefano and Elisabetta


Ines Hoffman (Germany)
November 2012

Hang loose :)

We had a wonderful stay at Green Garden Appartment. Thanks a lot to Elisabetha and Stefano – they were very nice and helpful in any case. For example, Stefano rented us really good surfing and snorkelling equipment and gave us lots of useful tips. You just have to ask him. Our appartment was cozy and clean and made us feel like home. In our opinion, this is the best place to stay on the island. There are lots of nice surfing spots close to the appartment and also beautiful beaches nearby. Two minutes by walk you will find a really nice bar and restaurant with ocean view where you can enjoy the evening and relaxed atmosphere. All in all – a perfect accommodation with very nice owners in a beautiful surrounding!

Thank you very much! We hope to see you both again as soon as possible!

Cheers, Ines & Eugen


Luisa Del Gatto (UK)
October 2012


We are 3 girls and we stayed at the Green Garden appartment in Barbados for 10 days. We were looking for a “buen retiro” holiday apart from the resort and all inclusive holiday and here we found our private paradise at the cottage.We had a great time there, the studio is not just clean but spacious and well mantained. The atmosphere was cosy and was amazing waking up every day surronded by beautiful palms and gardens.The bay we had was just within a short walk from the cottage and it was like it had private beach for the most of the time. The surfer’s bay bar is a meeting point for locals and surfers and it is a perfect place to go for listening to live music and for a drink and chat with locals ( amazing and intimate atmosphere).The owners of the Blue Ocean Cottage, Stefano and Eli, were friendly and always ready to assist us from the initial enquiries by mail even during our stay. They hired a car for us and they really helped us by giving us so many suggestion on how to make the most of Barbados. We felt at home, and we really enjoyed Barbados. The island is a Must and it was our dream’s holiday made perfect by the enjoyable and helpfull service. We all miss Barbados soooo much and we would definitively reccomend the Blue Ocean Cottage and the island of Barbados.


Pico (Quebec, Canada)
July 2011

summer fun!

a friend and i stayed in the green garden, and the rest of our group had the bigger blue ocean upstairs. it was like we owned the whole place! the accomodations were clean, comfortable, and decorated with a carribean theme! mostly everything we needed was provided! not only were the appartments lovely (with a BEACH view and plenty of space to RELAX- ie. hammock & waterfront balcony), stefano & elizabetha went out of their way to take care of us and make our stay in barbados excellent! They even brought us into oistins and told us the best place to eat in the fish market! Do not hesitate to make your reservations here, you won’t regret it! *close proximity to beach bar with amazing rum punch


Debi Jacobs (Santa Monica, California, USA)
April 2011

Feel like a local in Barbados

My husband and I just got back from the beautiful island, Barbados. Our stay at the Kabakalli Cottages was peaceful and relaxing. The Green Garden Studio was exactly as pictured in the photo on the website. Clean, comfortable, everything you need in the kitchen…good water presuure in the shower and my husband enjoyed the outdoor shower, as well. The twin beds are comfortable but not plush. However, we slept like babies, often listening to the night breezes and waking to the chirping birds. Enjoyed the outside hammock and patio daily. The property is located at the southern end of the island in a little neighborhood that is removed and private. We had a little walk to the bustop and buses come every five minutes! The ocean was right outside and you could walk to the beach. The owners, Stefano and Elisabetta couldn’t have been more helpful, friendly and accomodating. They have great suggestions for food, groceries, transportation and beaches. They set up a taxi for us, to and from the airport. We felt like we were in our own little beach hideaway. For those of you who like hotels and room service, this is not for you. For those of you who love to get the feel of the island and live on your own for a week or two…this is the spot!!! There are other apartments available (a little larger) but they were booked during our stay. However, I liked the fact that we had a lot of private, outdoor space…not just a balcony like some of the apartments. And you can’t beat the price…Buy your plane ticket now! The best fish at the Oistens fish fry, on Friday nights and great chicken at a funky house/restaurant called Chicken Rita (only for the adventurous traveler!) Didn’t rent a car…always took local buses…$1.00. Enjoy!


Ugo Lancetta (Italy)
January/February 2011


Per la Ns. quinta vacanza sull’isola di Barbados abbiamo scelto l’appartamento green garden, l’abbiamo trovato perfettamente attrezzato per due persone con una grande veranda all’esterno che permette di godersi il giardino, il clima ed il paesaggio che questa meravigliosa isola offre. I proprietari sono persone gentilissime sempre disponibili per ogni eventuale.


Riccardo Di Stefano (Roma - Italia)
August 2010

La mia permanenza in yellow bird

A Barbados ho passato 3 bellissime settimane di vacanza .. Ma questo è stato possibile anche dalla scelta della casa dove alloggiare.

Nell appartamento ci siamo trovati gemessimo.. A 70 m da silver sands ( spiagge ambita da windsurfisti ) ed a 100 m da un altra nlbellussima spiaggia . Pulitissima e soprattutto il proprietario ( Stefano) sempre gentilissimo e pronto a consigliare posti da visitare ., vita notturna, e “dritte su surf e windsurf” ( lui è verente forte!!!!). Per quanto mi riguarda sicuro che tornerò li!! Magari in uno dei nuovi appartamenti che stanno ultimando!! Vacanza a 5 stelle sotto tutti i pinti di vista . Ps: non è mancata l occasioni di cenare tutti assieme per assaporare Dell ottimo barracuda cucinato ad arte dalla compagna di Stefano … Se ci ripenso mi vieni l acquolina . Anche per la macchina ( moi jeep cabrio) mo’ problem. . La troverete sl vostro arrivo sotto casa già pronta per andare a surfare a bathsheba o girate l’ isola .

Finisco con un : non vedi l’ora di tornare!!!


Camille Dodd (Montreal, Canada)
March 2011


Wonderful place the pictures are exactly like reality! Best deal in Barbados!


Emiliano Zanotti (Italy)
March 2011


Io e la mia famiglia abbiamo trascorso una decina di giorni qui.

I cottages sono molto belli, pulitissimi e con una manutenzione continua.

Se amate trascorrere le vacanze lontano dalle colate di cemento dei resort all-inclusive, questo è il posto che fa per voi: vi alzarete al mattino e farete colazione guardando il mare, non sentendo nulla se non gli uccellini. A circa 100 metri avete un ristorante-pub per surfers, buono e non caro, con musica ed “ambiente” molto cool.

Le spiagge di sabbia sono a pochi passi.

Per scordarvi lo stress, questo è il posto giusto.


Colette Palmer (On - Canada)
April 2011

Restful and fun

The apartment was exactly as depicted in the photos. A very clean and well managed property with all the amenities required for a restful holiday. Stefano and Elisabetta were very welcoming and respectful of our privacy at the same time. I would highly recommend this property to friends and family. We enjoyed the private beaches, easy access to public transportation and friendliness of the locals. Oistins on Friday night is an event not to be missed. We hope to return very soon. Thank you Stefano and Elisabetta.


Chaberton (New York - USA)
March 2011

Lovely Studio, Lovely Landlords

Coconut Studio met all our expectations, the listing description and photos are very accurate. The landlords live on the property, and are available when necessary, extremely friendly, but not intrusive at all. The studio was very clean. If you don’t have a car, Miami Beach is a 40min walk. You can get around by bus, but we found the rental car to be very convenient. There’s a nice surfshack open for dinner at 2min walking distance. We had a great stay and would recommend it to our friends.


Lori Broderick (San Diego, USA)
May 2011

A wonderfully relaxing holiday

I had a wonderful and relaxing vacation and the warm welcome of the Yellow Bird apartment plays a role in my fond memories of Barbados. The accommodations are lovely and we enjoyed the peacefulness of the Southern coast of the island. The Yellow Bird apartment is a perfect choice for any traveller wishing for an escape to island paradise.


Nathalie Plecy (UK)
December 2011

Great place to stay

During Christmas Holidays, we (3 women) stayed at Yellow Bird Apartment in Blue Ocean Cottage… “THE PLACE TO STAY” charming, quiet, safe, clean and the owner Stefano is very nice and accommodating. We did have a great time in this beautiful-paradise island. The rental was next to Surfer Bar where we ate almost every day, and with the bus services we got around easily… You will see us soon!


Elena/Maria Navas (Spain)
July 2012

Amazing place, people, apartment, acommodation

For sure one of my best holidays!! A really nice apartment, good located, comfortable and fully equipped with all facilities.A very nice people, managers, who help us find whatever we needed in the island, water sports lessons with really good teachers, information about events happening in the island to have fun, whatever…

A place, apartment, people and holidays five stars!!!


Michael Bick (Cologne, Germany)
July/August 2012

Pleasant stay in Silver Sands

Our stay at Stefano and Elisabetta in their Yellow Bird appartment was wonderful and very relaxing. The place itself is both quiet and close to a huge variety of beaches, restaurants, bars, supermarkets etc.- of course a car is advantageous. Stefano and Elisabetta are very nice persons who cared a lot for any needs or information and provide a charmeful equipped and well maintained environment. we have seen all the other apartements in this place and they are all individual created and very nice.

For surfing it’s right in the middel of the spots of the south, each not longer than 5 Minutes drive away. Stefano surfs himself and can give useful advices and rent equipment as well.


Giovanni De Tollis (Italy)
August 2012

a very good deal in barbados !!

ottima l’accoglienza dei proprietari Elisabetta e Stefano e della loro simpatica cagnetta maya , abbiamo avuto da loro tutte le indicazioni per muoverci la nostra prima volta in barbados, siamo stati bene per dieci giorni in agosto nell’appartamento Yellow Bird c, composto da una bella stanza da letto matrimoniale ed una cucina abitabile, piccolo ma funzionale e pulito c’è tutto quello che può servire in una casa, un piccolo passerotto tutte le mattine si affaccia per fare colazione con gli ospiti della casa.


David Staplton (UK)
January 2013

“Affordable privately owned apartment"

I am certainly glad I made the decision to stay in the area of Silver Sands with my girlfriend. Blue Ocean villa has the perfect location to make short trips between the rugged south/east coast and the famous azure waters and golden sands of the west coast – unfortunately in areas densely populated by beachfront hotels and touristy restaurants. It also located within close proximity to the airport and Oistins, which is a small town with a big supermarket and the famous Friday Fish Fry.

Before our stay I was in email contact with Stefano who owns these apartments, he was extremely helpful and informative, even booking our jeep for the 10 days – MAH rent a car (at a much cheaper price then I was quoted elsewhere).

On arrival we were greeted by Stefano and his Partner and shown to our apartment (yellow bird), although a lot smaller then the photos suggest the apartment has everything you need for a basic (slightly oldie worldly) stay in the Caribbean. The bed is comfy and has a basic en suit toilet and shower. The only negatives = lack of a kettle & that the oven either incinerates what’s in it or doesn’t cook it at all.

In summary, don’t expect your accommodation budget to go as far it would in Europe but I would categorically advocate staying at Blue Ocean villa for a relatively affordable means to visit an undeniable paradise.

Ps: you need to rent a car


Battaglia Andrea (Italy)
January 2013

soggiorno a barbados

ho soggiornato 10 giorni presso il blue ocean cottage e devo dire che sono stato in maniera stupenda grazie alla splendida disponibilità e comptenza del titolare.

splendida posizione su uno dei tratti di costa più belli dell’isola con spiagge incontaminate e deserte.

l’appartamento molto carino, curato in tutti i particolri e molto pulito, come tutto il complesso anche nelle parti comuni.

posto tranquillissimo ma contemporaneamente non distante dalla zone con una vita notturna più animata per chi lo desidera.

lo consiglio a tutti!!!!!


Shana Rosenfeld (Germany)
June 2013

One of the best vacations ever!

We stayed in the Blue Ocean Cottage ( Yellow Bird Apt. ) for 3 weeks in June. We looked online for a while to find the perfect place to stay and were so glad when we finally booked the Yellow Bird Apartment at Stefano and Elisabettas Blue Ocean Cottage! Everything was exactly how it was described and showed in the Internet, we couldn’t have found anything better. The apartment, the location, the beautiful view and great owners made it hard for us to leave!! Stefano and Elisabetta were very helpful, informative, and caring! It was for sure one of the best vacations we had so far. Barbados is an beautiful island with amazing people and the most mesmerizing scenery! And we must say the South Coast is probably the best place to say, it has the best beaches, restaurants and nightlife! The perfect time to visit is for Crop Over!! We will be back soon, thank you Stefano, Elisabetta and Maya!


Lily Moore (Australia)
July/August 2013

A Wonderful Holiday

We spent 6 weeks at the Blue Ocean Cottage for our holiday. Stefano and Elizabetta had provided great service, and were helpful in every way possible. We spent our holiday in the White Cocunut Studio and found it to be very comfortable, quiet, and very clean. The beach outside the Cottage was magnificent. A car is a must, as there are so many lovely beaches to explore. Barbados is a wonderful island paradise a must to see. There are many restaurants, and so many sights to go visit. We look forwards to coming back in the near future as we had an amazing time. Thank u Stefano and Eli for all your help. Andy and Natalie.


Kathleen McDermott (USA)
February / March 2018

Outstanding Experience!

Elisabetta & Stefano-

You both made our experience in Barbados a memorable one! We especially enjoyed the deck table and chairs. Dinner in the evening was our time to regroup and plan for the next day. And the breeze… loved it!! You have a sweet spot on the island and we hope to visit again next year. Warmest Regards, Kathy and Don


Toni Lynn Feltham (Canada)
February 2018

So Very Impressed!!

This was our first time to Barbados and we could not be more pleased. Upon arriving at the airport there was transportation waiting to take us to the apartment, then the rental car we wanted was delivered right to us. That alone made the transition to a new country so much easier and enjoyable. The apartment was everything that Stefano and Elizabetta had said. It was spacious and clean. We had a 10 day stay and our linens were changed every 5 days and our towels were changed ever three days. The apartment was on the top floor and our view from the deck was gorgeous, could see and hear the ocean. There is a very nice almost private beach within a 3 minute walk. There is also a great open air bar called Surfers Bay which is also a 3 minute walk. Great way to end the day after being at the beach. The island itself is very easy to get around (once you can navigate the streets) and the people are very friendly and the food is out of this world. The fish market on Friday is a very happening place to be! I would recommend this place to whomever, our next visit to Barbados we will be staying there again. Thank you so much Stefano and Elizabetta and Maya for such a wonderful vacation!! Hope to see you again.


Christophe Lorentz (Sainte Rose, GUADALUPA)
February / March 2018

logement tres confortable, bien équipé, au calme et tres bien place pour visiter la Barbade

logement tres confortable, bien équipé, au calme et tres bien place pour visiter la Barbade Elisabetta et Sfeffano sont trés acceuillant et de bon conseil tres bonne adresse !


Robert Springett (Swanton Abbott - UK)
February 2018

Great hosts. helpful and there if you needed them. Location great

Great hosts. helpful and there if you needed them. Location great, only a short walk to get the local buses which were great fun and very cheap. right next to the sea and to a great little Surf bar which provided us with food and drink at the end of the day after a hard day on the beach. Very easy to immerse yourself into the relaxed local lifestyle and to avoid any over commercialisation of which there was very little. We will be going again!


Sara Lemma (UK)
February 2018

Great, attentive hospitality, lovely, quiet seafront apartment

Great, attentive hospitality, lovely, quiet seafront apartment that catered to all my needs. I loved the location, just nearby one of the loveliest bars/restaurants I have been at, Surfer’s Bay. There are a couple of shops at walking distance to buy groceries and if you want to catch the bus, the bus stop is at walking distance too. Stefano and Elisabetta are very attentive and will give you many tips and provide you with transfer from the airport (which is really close by!), hire car if you require it and a list of the available excursions. All in all I have had a great time and I would thoroughly recommend a stay here.


Erin Gilliard (N.Y. - USA)
December 2017

We had a wonderful stay

We had a wonderful stay at Stefano & Elisabetta’s. The apartment was very clean and nicely decorated. The full kitchen was a great, we got a lot of use out of it. The location was perfect, a 5 minute drive from the restaurants and shops in Oistins, and it is very close to a lot of very beautiful beaches! Communication was great, Stefano was very helpful getting us settled in and had great suggestions for things to do. Can’t wait to return!


Candi Fusco (USA)
January 2018

Blue Ocean Cottage

Sweet place and lovely hosts. Walking distance to several beaches and water sports. Most definitely a place to return to. Stefano and Elisabeth are wonderful hosts.


Emily Tait (USA)
October 2017

Excellent stay at Blue Ocean Cottage!

We stayed in the White Coconut studio and it was great. It was very clean, the shower was big and water temperature was very adjustable, and we also really enjoyed having a working kitchen since we tried to save money by not going out to eat every night. The only downside to the apartment was the lack of AC and for some reason the breeze would only come in the best if both doors (regular and screen) were open. But the ceiling fans helped and it was definitely manageable.

Overall we enjoyed staying on the south side of the island in a quieter, less commercialized area so the Blue Ocean Cottage was perfect!


Enrico Pietrosanti (Italy)
February 2017

Very nice place, apartment clean and spacious.

This studio is spacious with a doublebed room a bathroom and a small well equipped kitchen. There is a nice balcony close to the entrance with a table to have relaxing eating times and one table inside. The apartment is well clean and the owners kindly available for any information and support. Nice beach bar & restaurant 2 minutes by foot, beach and sea at 50mt. Surf centers in the area for gear renting. Silver sands park for jogging and open air fitness at less than 1mile.

I strongly reccomend this accomodation and I look forward lodging here in my next trip to Barbados!


Leila Olfert (Saskatoon, Saskatchewan - Canada)
November 2016

Lazy in Barbados

It was great! Stefano arranged for Mr. Rodney to meet us at the airport. He was so friendly and even took us to a minimart to get some basic groceries before we even got to the apartment! Now that is service! The apartment was clean and well-maintained. There was an outside shower to clean the sand off after time at the beach. There were clothes lines and laundry facilities available, too. Stefano had information pamphlets available as well as his verbal knowledge – which was most helpful. We took the #11 minibus into Bridgetown several times – was way easier then driving and then having to park at car! Even though it was hot, there is good ventilation in the place and we were comfortable, day and night. We did a lot of walking up and down the coastline. Some of it is beaches and other parts are rocky areas with pathways between the beaches. We went to Surfer’s Bay Bar, which was very close to the apartment, every day for Happy Hour – if not dinner, too. We could watch the sunset and enjoy a nice drink. We would recommend this apartment – for sure!


Nick Bovill (UK)
December 2015/January 2016

Fantastic 10 night New Year get away!

What can I say?!

We had a blast, Stefano was hugely accommodating and the room was fantastic! After traveling the island we came to the conclusion that we were situated in the best place! We’re not fans of the resort life and we like to have the option to cook and the kitchen was spot on!

If you’re into Kite boarding (you would of heard of this place), sun lounging, and/or Surfing this is the place to be (there’s a nice little beach to catch a few casual waves, watch out for the rocks though beach right! Or if you don’t mind a 15 to 20 minute trek to South Point there’s two decent spots, one for the short and one for the long).

Great spots to eat surrounds you at Surfers Bay and ‘Oistens’ is only a dollar away!

If I had only one bit of feedback, paying the holding deposit could have been easier, but I’m not that familiar with SWIFT transactions, but now I am.

I thoroughly recommend, Stefano and co keep a great spot and I would definitely visit again!



Lorraine C. (USA)
October 2015

Don't hesitate on this rental!

My stay was excellent! The owner Stefano was very welcoming and accommodating. I had a comfortable stay in this attractively decorated cottage. Peaceful! No complaints at all. Walks by the ocean are breathtaking. I highly recommend this rental.


Laura & Ramin (Germany)
June/July 2015


We had a really nice time in the white coconut studio! Stefano was really kind and helpful! He was still there to organize different things for us (car rental, tour with a catamaran…). In the studio you can find everything you need to have a great time. It was clean and well-resourced. Near the studio you can find a beach bar and you need just 10 minutes to the bus station. From there you can reach Oistins in a view minutes- you can find there everything you need (supermarkets, fish fry…).

Altogether we can recommend the studio!!!


Gina Iddless. (UK)
May/June 2014

White Coconut Studio - wonderful !

Firstly, I’d like to say a very big thank you to Stefano and Elisabetta for being such wonderful hosts / landlords! White Coconut Studio is spacious, modern and the use of Wi-Fi was much appreciated. The kitchen area is great (I just love cooking on gas!) with an ample fridge/freezer. I would recommend hiring a car so that not only can you get to explore the rest of beautiful Barbados, you can get to the local supermarket in Oistins and stock up on groceries. There is a large car park opposite the main gate to the apartments so no parking problems whatsoever. The bathroom is very spacious with a large powerful shower, bliss ! The studio itself doesn’t overlook the sea, although you only have to step out of the door and walk along the balcony a few feet and there you have a lovely view of the ocean. Literally around the Corner is Surfer’s Bay bar and grill, where you will be made to feel very welcome. The food is wonderful, especially the macaroni pie! Catch of the Day is usually out of this world too, the fish is so fresh of course, with Oistins (fishing village) so close by. I would not hesitate in recommending White Coconut Studio, I miss being there so much. Hope to see you again soon Stefano and Elisabetta xx


Natasha Feldman (UK)
January-February 2014

Peace and Tranquility

We arrived to a clean, cool, beautiful apartment that felt very much like home while we stayed there. It is located moments from stunning secluded white sandy beaches that are picture postcard perfect. The apartment has excellent facilities including a particularly well equipped fully functioning kitchen, which was imported from Italy. The shower is big enough for 2 people, with a powerful source of hot water – in fact the photos on the website don’t do it justice.

Stefano and Elisabetta went above and beyond with their help and recommendations from a memorable trip snorkelling on El Tigre with turtles and through shipwrecks, to booking a gastronomic romantic meal on our last night at a restaurant called Champers.

There are cameras around the property, making you feel safe and secure, in an area that although lovely, is quite remote. There is a fantastic relaxed bar on the same street, where you will be greeted by an English owner, great food and live music – thankfully Stefano pointed us in the direction on our first night and in our 3 week stay we became regular visitors.

For the surfer in you (kite, board or wind) there is a beach up the road run by Brian Talma who runs a school for all types of surfing, however, if you want somewhere less busy that is even closer to Blue Ocean Cottage, the beach in front of the closed down Silver Sands Hotel, is quiet and perfect for a more experienced surfer or in my case sunbather. Beware though, there are no sun loungers, parasols or drinks waiters, but there are also no throngs of tourists, so it feels like your own personal beach, which is a pleasure.

From a transport perspective Stefano and Elisabetta recommended a charming cab driver called Rodney, but if you want to take the number 11 minibus it’s 5 minutes walk away and goes all the way to Bridgetown – the 11 is definitely an experience not to be missed!

Blue Ocean Cottage is the place to stay if you want a warm friendly home from home, with peace and quiet. If you’re looking for party central stay in St Lawrence Gap; this is the place to come to, for anyone that wants to unwind, spend time on untouched beaches and enjoy peace, quiet and tranquility.

We’ve been back a month, it feels like a lifetime ago and we both desperately miss it. Enjoy your time there, those moments are precious and will stay with you forever.

Thank you Stefano and Elisabetta for an amazing holiday you are lovely people and fantastic hosts.


John Fleiner (Canada)
February 2014

Amazing Place to Hang Out

We stayed at the White Coconut Studio for two weeks in February 2014. Prior this visit, we experienced beautiful Barbados during cruise visits. These one day visits encouraged us to step out of our cruise ship box and choose Barbados as our vacation destination.

We looked on- line to find the perfect place to stay. We found the White Coconut Studio to be that place on the south coast of the island. We were not disappointed in anyway. The studio met all of our expectations, very clean, comfortable with all the amenities we needed. Stefano arranged to have us picked up at the airport which was a ten minute drive to Blue Ocean where Stefano greeted us and ensured we were comfortable with our new surroundings.

The first week we decided to use the bus system and walk abouts within the south coast. A short 5- minute walk up the hill to catch the # 11 bus, 5 -minutes Ostins and 15- minutes to Bridgetown. For walkers there is a path that goes past the Surfer Bar that leads to a coastal road, walking past beautiful homes that lead into Ostins it took approx. 45 minutes. In Ostins there is an IGA super market for all you grocery needs, and across the road there is the fresh fish market where you can buy fresh fish for your dinners. After our dinner at the studio we went to the Surfer’s Bar and Grill, a 2 minute walk for evening cocktails. Sunday nights there was live music, a great place to hang out at the end of a day.

Our second week, Stefano was so kind to arrange a car rental to be delivered to the studio and arrangements were made to take the car back to the airport for our departure. Stefano also put together a catamaran sail for the day on the west coast. Great time!!

With our new means of transportation, it was easy to explore the east, west and north coast and all points in-between. For the beaches, the Crane Beach and Bottom Bay Beach –most beautiful. Miami Beach in Ostins the best overall for swimming and shade. From our studio it was a 5 minute walk to Surfer’s Bay Beach where wind surfers and kite surfers come from all over the world to train for competitions- what an awesome site to see!!

Elisabetta was so kind to change our bed linen and towels every few days allowing us to use the washing machine and clothes line and Wi-Fi.

Thank-you Stefano and Elisabetta for a wonderful, quiet, safe, and secure home-base to experience an awesome Barbados vacation. Would love to come back and do it all over again.

John and Sharon


Tee Calnon (N.Y - USA)
March 2013

Great Experience in Barbados

My girlfriend and I spent a week in the white coconut studio and cant say enough about how much we loved Barbados. If you are considering staying here you probably know what you are looking for.. We did a fair amount of research and the the room met all of our expectations. It was clean, comfortable, and well located for exploring the island. If you are a kiter the kite beach is walking distance for surf the drive to Bathsheba is probably an hour but there are some closer waves as well. We enjoyed being able to go to the market for fresh fish to cook as well as the convenience of walking to surf bar. Stefano was very accommodating and went out of his way to ensure we were satisfied. If you are looking for an authentic Barbados experience look no further we cant wait to go back!


Iera U. (Spain)
October 2012

Apartamento encantador

Nos alojamos 10 noches en el “White Coconut Studio”, y tenemos que destacar la excelente relación calidad/precio. Un apartamento muy acogedor con una decoración muy bien ambientada, en el que no faltó de nada, excepto el aire acondicionado. Tiene facil acceso a dos playas, que están a unos 100 metros, y a unos 50 metros se encuentra el Surfer’s Bay Beach Bar que es un bar restaurante encantador con vistas al mar. Es recomendable alquilar un coche, pero si prefieres integrarte, puedes coger un taxi público a unos 500 metros que te llevará hasta Bridgetown.


Marc S. Duisburg / Dinslaken
July 2012


A really great location in the south of the island! In the neighborhood of the friendly bajan people! A short way to the city Oistens with bus just 10 Minutes.

The host Stefano and his wife are very helpful and friendly. Very Great!!

We enjoied every day in the beautiful blue ocean cottage.

Its clean? It is!!!!!! Perfectly clean!!

I can advise this location alot!!!!


Caryn Waller
February 2018

Excellent for Simple Barbados Living

I stayed for 3 weeks from late Dec 2017 to late Jan 2018 and I chose this as I cared less about luxury and wanted a longer holiday to avoid as much of the UK Winter as I could. I’m used to 28+ degree heat, so did not want the A/C which ramped up the price. I was seeking a quiet and relaxing holiday and this was a great choice for just that. Couple of things worth mentioning. The beaches within easy walking distance of the apartment are not swimming beaches but surfing beaches. There is hours of fun to be had watching the kite surfers and wind-surfers at the local beaches, but if you like to regularly dip into the ocean as you while away hours sunbathing and reading then you would have to be very brave to jump into these big wave waters. You need to drive, or get one of the many cheap local buses to Miami beach, for a swimmable Caribbean beach experience. I would also recommend renting a car. Stefano organised one and it made a huge difference. I travelled much of the island and it made food shopping much easier. Driving is simple, but be careful as pedestrians walk in the roads and the roads are full of pot holes. Take it slow and you will be fine. I recommend driving up the west coast to spend your days at the picture perfect Caribbean beaches that are up that way. If you hit those you have to be prepared to pay for expensive drinks. However if you buy one drink and rent a lounger for the day that’s cheaper than staying at these luxury places all the time. Stefano and his team at the company that managed the apartment could not be more friendly or helpful. Any question or request they solve rapidly and professionally. I was also impressed by how regularly they change the towels – every 3 days. In summary, those seeking a quiet holiday and like clean simple living where everything works but is not particularly modern or glamorous, then you will love this place. It certainly gave me a level of peace of mind I haven’t experienced in a long time. Thank you Stefano and team.


Carmen Conte (USA)
February 2017

This cute studio was a perfect choice.

We wanted to stay affordably close to the beach for a week and this cute studio was a perfect choice. We loved cooking breakfast in the newly renovated, essentially-stocked kitchen and eating every morning in the pretty backyard which is even nicer than the pictures. The huge bathroom shower was great for washing off the ocean at the end of day. Silver Sands Beach water is a bit rough but it was fun to watch the kite surfers and meet people in that community. This spot feels like a little getaway from the rest of the island but you are still a 5min walk to the $1 bus that runs all day and a 2min walk to a fantastic beach bar/restaurant with great food and live music. I appreciated the new, easy-to-use windows with mosquito screens which let in the wonderful sea breeze. Stefano arranged taxis to pick us up from and deliver us to the airport. He was a great communicator and very helpful for our entire stay.


Iurii Ko & Milya Kostiukevych (Seattle USA / Ukraine)
December 2017

Stefano is, probably, the best host I’ve ever stayed with.

Stefano is, probably, the best host I’ve ever stayed with. Very open and attentive, while still respects privacy when you’d expect it. Very cozy small studio with a nice backyard, just minutes from the beach. The surrounding beaches are the best for kiting, windsurfing or some surfing. Swimming is ok too, but you’re in waves and cross-shore current, so not ideal for family beach bathing.


Matteo Carcassi (Sardinia - Italy)
February 2017

Unforgettable !

Very nice apartment, perfect for our holiday. First impression: very clean( room, bathroom). The patio overlooking the garden, well mainteined.The kitchenette is well organized, you find all utensils for cooking (even the oven). Wi-fy works properly. The beach is only one minute walking from the apartment and you find there a nice bar to chill out or eat something. By walking you can even reach other beautiful beaches. Elisabetta and Stefano have been perfect ! They gave us a lot of advice on the island, the different beaches, the watersports ana what to visit in this beautiful, tropical island. For local trasportation , the bus stop n°11 is only three minutes from the apartment. by walk, and takes you to Bridgetown along the coast where there are other beaches. I would strongly recomend this apartment to a friend. I think next time I’ll fly to Barbados, my place will be The Tropical Gecko Studio !!


Oriana Ciaccio (Italy)
December 2016

Elisabetta e Stefano, perfetti padroni di casa

Piccolo e delizioso monolocale appena ultimato, perfettamente pulito e ordinato, esattamente rispondente alle foto pubblicate, con giardino e spazio verandato esterno dotato di tavolo ed amaca, perfetto per la colazione e i momenti di relax.

A 200 mt dalla meravigliosa e selvaggia spiaggia di Silver Sand paradiso per kiters e windsurfers. A 200 mt dal Surfers Bay Bar dove si può pranzare cenare a prezzi modici in riva ad mare e godere del tramonto o della musica live un paio di sere a settimana. A 500 mt dalla fermata del bus che porta in 10 minuti alla città di Oistin in mezzora nella capitale Bridgetown lungo il percorso tutte le più belle spiagge attrezzate e facilmente balneabili. La fermata del bus è davanti al minimarket posto dove si trova lo stretto necessario. Queste info e tante altre turistiche e pratiche sono presenti nel book che Elisabetta e Stefano hanno predisposto per i loro clienti.

Elisabetta e Stefano mi sono venuti incontro in ogni necessità relativa al soggiorno presso il loro studio, dandomi aiuto ed ottimi consigli anche per visitare l isola; perfetti nella loro ospitalità, posso dire con gioia di aver trovato due amici sinceri.


Christian Veit (Germany)
September 2016

Highly recommended! We will probably be back :)

After extensive research I got in touch with Stefano, the Italian owner. I booked the “Tropical Gecko Studio” for 2 weeks directly through Stefano and wired the money to his Barbados Account. Felt a bit risky at but worked out perfectly! Everything was as promised when we arrived and I got a much better price, which saved me about 200 US$.

The appartment is well maintained, clean, has all the utilities you need (incl. fast WiFi and a well equiped kitchen for a bit of cooking), offers a spacious patio with hammock and roof and an additional outside shower for a quick splash during hot days.

We had quite a few questions during our stay and Stefano was always helpfull, be it personally, via E-Mail or WhatsApp. He helped us find a good surf school, get a rental car on short notice – which was even delivered to our door step, and generellay helped with a great amount of tips for the island. Thank you again Stefano – we had a great time!

The appartment is in a quiet area with the beach and a beach bar/restaurant 2 min away. The next mini mart (small convenience store), which is also the closest bus stop, is a short 5 min walk away. We regularly used the mini buses to go to Bridgetown (just 2 BBD / 1 US$ per ride). The ride to the closest supermarket, Miami Beach and Oistins in Bridgetown take about 20min. The mini bus is a low-cost and convenient alternative to a rental, if you want to explore the South Coast.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay a lot and we will probably come back to visit again!


Linda McGill (UK)
August 2016

A perfect base in a lovely location

The tropical gecko studio is one of two in a small property with its own pretty garden. We have stayed in both studios and felt very happy and comfortable in both. The studios are very well equipped and maintained to a high standard. There is wifi, which is a bonus. There is plenty of space to sit outside and relax at all times of the day under the shady verandah. The studios are safe and secure, with outdoor lights at night and security cameras.

There is a beach bar just two minutes walk away, where you can just have a drink and listen to music, or have something to eat and watch the sun set over the sea. Lovely! The surrounding area is not over-developed and has a friendly, laid back feel to it.

The owner, Stefano, is exceptionally friendly and helpful. He is always around to answer questions or to give advice if you need it.

I have no hesitation in recommending this studio (and the other properties that Stefano and Elisabetta have) to anyone.

We did not get to see the tropical gecko after whom the studio is named, but we have seen his picture. Maybe next time!


Jeannie Malcolm (USA)
April 2016

Cute, clean and cozy

This was our third trip to Barbados and each time we have stayed in one of Stefano’s studio apartments. First time in Tropical Gecko, and as usual we had a great week with no problems and were very comfortable. Would recommend to anyone looking for a reputable, clean and safe place to stay on South Coast!